think about it
Your cart is empty

the 2015 rachel funari prize for fiction: the shortlist

lip comp logo
Lip is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2015 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction!

In no particular order, the shortlisted entries are as follows:

After Hours by Sophie Overett
Excerpts by Ali Zayaan
Fota by Danielle Binks
Harbinger by Stevi-Lee Alver
Round by Katelin Farnsworth
Vegetables by Clara Johanna

The winners of the 2015 Prize will be announced as part of the Emerging Writers’ Festival #writingwhilefemale event at The Wheeler Centre on Friday 5 June, 2015

For more information about the event, click here. We’d love to see you there!

The 2015 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction’s is judged by Lip‘s chief editors, as well as our panel of esteemed judges:

Maxine Beneba Clarke 
is an Australian writer of Afro-Caribbean descent. She is the author of the poetry collections nothing here needs fixing and Gil Scott Heron is on Parole. Her critically acclaimed short fiction collection Foreign Soil, won the 2013 Victorian Premier’s Award for an Unpublished Manuscript and was shortlisted for the 2014 Readings New Australian Writing Award. She is the recipient of the 2014 Hazel Rowley Fellowship for Biography for her memoir The Hate Race, due out in early 2016.

Lorelei Vashti is a writer and editor. Her book, Dress Memory: A Memoir of my Twenties in Dresses, is published by Allen & Unwin. She is a contributor to the popular ‘Women of Letters’ series, has written for many magazines, and used to write a television column for the Fairfax press. 

Melissa Lucashenko is an award-winning novelist who lives between Brisbane and the Bundjalung nation. Melissa’s most recent novel, Mullumbimby, was awarded the 2013 Deloitte Queensland Literary Award for Fiction, won the 2014 Victorian Premiers Prize for Indigenous Writing, and was longlisted for both the Stella and Miles Franklin awards. Mullumbimby is also longlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Literary Prize 2015. Melissa is a Walkley Award winner for her non-fiction, as well as a founding member of Sisters Inside. Her website is at

The 2015 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction would not be possible without the support of our amazing sponsors:


Our sponsors 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *