think about it
Your cart is empty

the 2018 rachel funari prize for fiction: the shortlist

Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction Logo

We are thrilled to announce the shortlist of the 2018 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction. Thank you to each and every one of you who entered. We extend our congratulations to all shortlisted entrants.

A Landing – Phoebe Chen
Fishing for Yabbies – Laura McCluskey
Highway – Alice Bishop
Hollow – Ruth Gilbert
In Search of Murakami – Alicia Sometimes
Motherland – Shona Curtain
Our Voices, Fierce – Liz Allan
Post – Emily Clements
Quiquiriqui – Kristin Hannaford
the last time you saw her was on the news – Else Fitzgerald
The Saint of Salt Water – Emily Shaw

The winners of the 2018 Prize will be announced at Northcote Town Hall as part of the Emerging Writers’ Festival’s ‘Amazing Babes’ on Monday 25th June, 2018.

For more information about the event, please click here.

The 2018 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction is judged by Lip’s editors as well as our panel of esteemed judges.

Shastra Deo was born in Fiji, raised in Melbourne, and lives in Brisbane. She holds a Bachelor of Creative Arts in Writing and English Literature, First Class Honours and a University Medal in Creative Writing, a Master of Arts in Writing, Editing and Publishing, and is currently completing her PhD in Creative Writing at The University of Queensland. Her first book, The Agonist (UQP 2017), won the 2016 Arts Queensland Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize.

Margot McGovern is an Adelaide-based writer who holds a creative writing PhD from Flinders University. Her debut YA novel, Neverland, was shortlisted for the 2015 Text Prize and will be published by Penguin Random House Australia in April. She is a former associate editor of Ride On cycling magazine and has worked as a creative writing tutor and manuscript assessor. Margot has reviewed for several Australian literary journals and blogs at

Briohny Doyle is the author of the novel The Island Will Sink and the autoethnography Adult Fantasy. Her short fiction, poetry and criticism have appeared in The Lifted Brow, Meanjin, Overland and The Age. She is a lecturer at Deakin University.

The judges of the 2018 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction: (L-R) Shastra Deo, Margot McGovern and Briohny Doyle

The judges of the 2018 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction: (L-R) Shastra Deo, Margot McGovern and Briohny Doyle

This prize is proudly supported by Writer’s Victoria, Wakefield Press, Verandah Literary Journal, Queensland Writers Centre, Pilot Press, Express Media, Books + Publishing, Emerging Writers’ Festival and Scribe Publications.

2018 rachel prize sponsors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *