think about it
Your cart is empty

the 2023 rachel funari prize for fiction: the winners

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2023 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction is sydney khoo for their story

Sydney receives a $1000 cash prize and a book pack courtesy of our sponsors.

The 2023 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction’s judging panel included Kate Mildenhall, Sara El Sayed, and Katherine Larsen.

Judges’ praise for 

“This is an assured and compelling short story that shows a writer confident in their craft and their experimentation with form and voice. It demonstrates excellent technical execution and embodiment of the theme. Written in sharp and vivid prose, explores the suppression of personhood, and what it means to no longer recognise one’s own body as home.”

Second place was awarded to Karen Howie Casey for her story Little Battles Everywhere and third place was awarded to Sonal Kamble for her story Precious Horrors. Jean Flynn’s story Pink, and Alaina Dean’s story Normal Woman at the Saturday Morning Farmers’ Market were Highly Commended.

Winning stories and author Q&As will be published online in the coming weeks.

About the 2023 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction

This year marks eleven years of the Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction. Writers were invited to submit previously unpublished and unperformed fiction up to 2000 words that engaged with the theme ‘revolt’. The competition was open to all women and non-binary writers residing in Australia. The prize is held in honour of Lip’s late founding editor, Rachel Funari, in recognition of her contribution to the arts.

The 2023 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction was supported by Penguin Random House Australia, Ultimo Press, UQP, Scribe Publications, Aniko Press, Fremantle Press, and the Queensland Writers Centre.

To request an interview with the 2023 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction winner, sydney khoo, please contact Jo Mandarano at [email protected]

The sponsors of the 2023 Rachel Funari Prize for Fiction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *